Posted by: rubyclover | September 1, 2011

*CLOSED* September GIVEAWAY…by lovely English artisan Suzi Skelton of DashAngel Designs

This month we have a special 3 WINNER giveaway! The fabulous Suzi Skelton from DashAngel Designs has very generously offered up a beautiful necklace, bracelet and pair of earrings from her whimsical Day of the Dead line. She uses semi precious stones for her creations including turquoise, amethyst, howlite, quartz, jasper etc.  I love how she mixes natural stones into these playful designs, giving them a bit of voodoo edginess but keeping it lighthearted with bright colors. In her own words, her jewelry is inspired by a “Fantasy Land of Goddesses, Fairies, Angels, Day of the Dead, Ancient Egyptians, Mermaids, Flowers & Pirates”

These are the 3 super cute pieces you’ll be entering to win, see rules below:

ENTRY RULES:

3 steps~ 1)LIKE DashAngel on Facebook  2) Share her Facebook page on your Facebook page  3)Leave a comment on this post HERE saying that you did those 2 things. That’s it! (if you don’t have a facebook account, tell us your favorite item in her shop  for your entry. Or Tweet!). This giveaway is worldwide, anyone can enter! I’ll pick the winner on September 10th and notify you by email (that’s why you have to put your email when you comment, but NOBODY sees it but ME!) Good luck!

Now read all about Suzi and her fabulous life as a costume designer below, don’t forget to visit her Etsy shop for all sorts of fabulous jewelry!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’ve been making things since I was a kid, my Mum said she had to check matchboxes in case I had created some little world inside!
I guess making clothes for my dolls was next. At 15 I made decision I was going to art school and spent the lunch hours in the art room getting a portfolio together. I went at 16 and studied Printed Textile Design for 5 years and then worked as a colour technician for a fabric printers. Costume making started when a friend in a cabaret act (that pretended to be popstars of the time) asked me to make him a Prince outfit and I started making all their costumes. I then went to work in a London costumiers and after 2 years went back to art school to study Theatre Design. While there I worked as associate designer, wardrobe supervisor and also ended up as a performer…and got to work for my hero in theatre, Lindsay Kemp who taught David Bowie and Kate Bush their Mime and movement.  Then it was on to wardrobe for English National Ballet,touring most of the time and working with dancers on the choreographic workshops designing and making their costumes.

Over the 90’s I designed and made costumes for 20 shows for a childrens theatre company and also worked for Welsh National Opera (but much prefer dance to Opera, it’s just not me!). I loved working for The Lindsay Kemp Company the most, we toured Italy & Spain and Japan…I never intended to be a performer but with Lindsay you get no choice!

I have always loved music and going to gigs, at art school I got to see many groups I still love and enjoy. I was a big Bauhaus fan and loved Japan too, it was a great time to be in the UK. I have even taken inspiration from some Bauhaus songs for my jewllery. I also love photography and took many photos from the wings while at the ballet. I always took my camera to gigs too in the 80’s when it was film and focusing your shots, not like now where its all digital and point and shoot (took photos for Peter Murphy in 2009 at his London show).

These days I don’t do alot as I’m looking after my disabled Mum, that’s why I started making jewllery. I had studied millernary at art school so had the equipment. I’m also making and designing a jazz dance show for someone I met on the first theatre show I worked on 25 years ago who has her own dance company now 🙂

~~~♣~~~♣~~~♣~~~♣~~~♣~~~♣~~~♣~~~

Wow…the woman has got some serious experience! A huge thanks to DashAngel Designs for offering up these really fun and pretty pieces for our monthly giveaway. Again, LIKE her FB page, share it and leave your comment here…that’s your official entry for the contest. Winners picked on Sept. 10th, 1st number picked gets first choice and so on. Thank you everyone and good luck!!

Responses

  1. Liked and shared !!! Very cute stuff !!!

  2. gustosa giveaways like dashangel design on fb
    share dashangel page – http://www.facebook.com/gustosagiveaways/posts/155851274501080

  3. Done 🙂 Love this page

  4. Gorgeous colours and pretty jewels. xxx

  5. I’ve done it! Fabulous stuff! 😀

  6. Shared your page on both my personal FB and my Artist FB page

  7. I like DashAngel! My work here is done. I’m exhausted.

  8. Unique, inspiring and fabulous just like it’s creator ♥ x

  9. DashAngel – I’ve shared, I’ve liked your page, I tweet about it and I tell everyone who listens – Now please send me a bloke thing 🙂

  10. Will share your pages for sure.. your designs are awesome, extremely creative and i will have more in the future.

  11. I “liked” dashangel on FB and shared it on my FB! xo

  12. Already done!

  13. Liked, shared on my FB business page and twitter! 🙂 Wonderful shop! Best of luck to you DashAngel Designs! You are an amazing lady!
    https://www.facebook.com/SoulsFireDesigns

  14. liked and shared her page / ana amanti
    tumblemumbo at gmail.com
    intl thank you

  15. Liked and shared her page. Love her stuff!!! Great and beautiful work 🙂

  16. Liked and shared. Hope I win!!!!

  17. I liked and shared with 800 or so of my closest friends on Twitter… 🙂

  18. Liked and shared with over 1300 of my fb friends – Denise G

    ontariohappychick at gmail dot com

  19. […] Ruby Clover – Handmade Necklace, Bracelet & Earrings – 9/10 – […]

  20. Liked as Yuliya Sh
    shared http://www.facebook.com/permalink.php?story_fbid=113919268710540&id=100001658387083

    juletchka78(at)hotmail(dot)com

  21. I really like her pieces…very fresh!!

  22. I liked it, and I shared it. So I guess I’m entered now!

  23. lovely items ❤ i'd like to enter!

    i liked the fb page as architekt chica & made a link in my wall!!

  24. I tweeted for my entry:

    Also, my favorite item from her shop is the Green Japanese Ladies with Spring Blossoms Long Dangle earrings.

  25. Liked and shared. Thanks.

  26. How wonderful! I followed the steps! Great Giveaway!

  27. I love Suzi’s work, I already own 2 pins and a bracelet, they always get noticed!

  28. Liked and shared page!

    walindeman@gmail.com

  29. like them and shared on my fb page
    Robin Scott

  30. Cute pieces! I liked, shared and posted.;)

  31. Liked and shared!! What a wild, eclectic and inventive collection of designs. And such an interesting life behind the jewelery! Thank you Suzi and Angela for this fun giveaway 🙂

  32. I did those 2 things – Aik Chien

  33. Done 🙂

  34. Dearest S.
    liked and shared.
    Crossing fingers now!!!
    Much love
    Barbara

  35. I Like DashAngel on Facebook and shared:

    (oksana vladimirovna)

    ksyshenka(at)yahoo(dot)com

    Thank you for the chance!

  36. FB name: Lyudmila Sizova
    Shared about giveaway http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100000760968974

  37. Very nice stuff

  38. Liked and Shared!

    https://www.facebook.com/DashangelDesigns?sk=wall#!/permalink.php?story_fbid=250260501685587&id=100002760471352

    pennymindingmom (at) hotmail (dot) ca

  39. Thanks Ruby!! Done


Leave a Reply

Categories

