Posted by: rubyclover | August 16, 2010

You may travel far far ~ to Co. Clare :) ….

So…we weren’t really going to do much in Co. Clare, except drive through it to get to Galway.  However, I really didn’t have to be there until dinner time, so I decided to go west and take the coast road to the Cliffs of Moher for the afternoon. I hadn’t been that way in years so I figured why the hell not…

I wasn’t disappointed 🙂 But we never even stopped to see the Cliffs actually, too crowded with giant busloads of people and I tend to steer clear of big crowds at touristy spots. So we drove right past and headed down lots of winding coastal roads around Liscannor and Doolin, stopped in The Clare Jam Shop to pick up a few gifts, met some friendly horses and saw the most beautiful rolling hills and coastal views on the prettiest sunshiney day ever…totally fell in love with Co. Clare all over again.

I didn’t want to get in trouble for missing dinner and I still had a couple of hours to drive, so we didn’t do a whole lot while we were here except take in all the beautiful scenery and stop to take some pix. And plotted to talk to my neighbors about staying at their home here next time I go 😀

Doonaghore Castle

Burren road

The Burren…very cool and strange area. I bet I could’ve gotten alot of cool pix out there :/ Oh well, got a couple of ok drive-bys 🙂

And of course, I have some cards in my new Etsy shop (TheIrishStill) from this area.    Stay tuned for my little giveaway next week ♥♥♥

Responses

  1. Love your photos, Rubes! Great blog post.

  2. Great pics Ruby 1
    It’s a good thing you didn’t stop at the cliffs, the eejits there want to charge 10 Euro for parking….or just looking ?…bit hazy on which bit but charge they will!

  3. Enjoying reading about your Irish trails! That wee derelict cottage is in a great spot – imagine having the cash to be able to get it and renovate! Awwwh.

  4. Thanks gals!

    Maura, let’s split it 🙂 I bet it’s damp though :/

    Iris I think it was free for the Cliffs but like 8euro to park…lame-o! I did want to see them, but oh well, there was a billion and fifty people walking around there and I was turned off. I think I saw them from another angle? Or at least I saw some cliff from Doolin 😛 Good enough


Leave a Reply

Categories

