Posted by: rubyclover | March 15, 2010

Skerries, Co. Dublin, Ireland

So we’re off to Ireland again for summer, can’t wait! I’m going to book our last night there in a B&B we’ve stayed at before that’s close to the airport. So that’s what today’s post is all about, the seaside town of Skerries that I just love. 

The town is just a short distance from Dublin airport. I like staying here for a day or two before flying home, steering completely clear of Dublin city because of the horrendous traffic. You can easily take the train/bus into Dublin for the day and not worry about driving too.  It’s a really quaint place, with a gorgeous beach and secret little backstreets to explore.

There’s a nice selection of places to eat in town. Being from Chicago, we were going through major pizza withdrawals after a few weeks and I was ecstatic to find Pasta Pizza, a place that made a decent enough pie that didn’t gag my kid (they have a thing for putting corn on top of pizzas in Ireland. I’ve never quite understood this phenomenon and this place has it’s own special corn pizza too).

Skerries Mills is one of the tourist attractions here, you can wander around the grounds for hours and it’s super kid friendly. They’ve got a really cute crafts shop and cafe on site and on weekends there’s a farmers market and Sunday brunch with local musicians playing (check calendar).

One thing I noticed while walking the streets here is almost every crowd of people we passed were speaking a foreign language. I didn’t realize that it’s really a European hot spot for weekend getaways, so we were lucky last time to have gotten a B&B with no reservations. We stayed outside of town at the Woodview Farmhouse B&B, the price was reasonable and the rooms and breakfast were lovely. I recommend getting there during daylight hours since the graveyard lined and tree canopied backroads will scare the living crap out of you when it’s pitch black. And you will most definitely need to dodge chickens and other fowl that insist on walking in the middle of the road.

There’s lots to do in and around Skerries and the area is beautiful of course. Check it out 🙂

Responses

  1. What a lovely little guided tour, Ruby. Sounds like a place I would like to see when I visit Ireland some day. My dream.

  2. lol! chickens and other fowl????

    i don’t get the corn on the pizza either.
    but. whatever.

    i’ll have to check skerries out sometime.
    of course it’s all the way on the other side of the country from where i usually am, but i’d still like to go!

  3. Super interesting Rubes!! Can’t wait to go back myself and look forward to seeing all the updates about your new trip.

  4. Thanks chickies, I’m glad you stopped by!

  5. I love corn and tuna pizza one of my favs!

    Rubes I love the entry shot. Have never been to Skerries – looks like a nice spot.

  6. omg maura, can’t believe you said that. My best friends cousin from Ballycastle told us about his favorite tuna and corn pizza when we were young. We were completely grossed out! I swear he said something about peanut butter on it too, I wonder if he meant like thai peanut sauce? Which of course we love on our Beat Kitchen pizza 😉 I’ll stick with the salad sandwiches with tuna and sweetcorn though, those are yummy.

  7. Ahhh, makes me pine for my husband’s hometown – he’s Skerries born and bred!!!

  8. I love Skerries! It’s got a more upscale feel to it, like sort of different than other small Irish towns. I didn’t make it there on my last trip, I’ll have to try and stop next time. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

